Shannon McKelden – The Kiss Test

I am having a hard time deciding whether I truly liked this book. There were many aspects that I liked and many that I didn’t. I also found myself reading this book in one sitting. But I didn’t read it all at once because it was so good that I couldn’t put it down but rather because I was waiting for something to happen that never materialized. So, I shall dissect my impression and see if other readers agree with my overall review.

The story begins with Margo, a popular radio DJ who thinks that her life is perfect and she has it all. Suddenly her perfect life begins to fall apart and some major soul searching is needed for her to get back on track. This includes a road trip with her oh so hot, oh so promiscuous best friend Chris. As they travel cross country to her mother’s 11th wedding ceremony, Margo must face some interesting facts – a bath tub and banging headboard notwithstanding.

The plot moves at an ok pace but I wanted more from Margo and Chris earlier in the book. There was no sexual tension building between them so no real anticipation for the reader. When they do finally get together it was a little anti-climactic for that reason. There were a few other plot items that I didn’t much care for especially the score of women that Chris kisses and sleeps with throughout the book. He has this “kiss test”, his compatibility test to see if he has found Miss Right. Unfortunately he kisses everything that moves! But, in the end, you learn why he has this test and it is a sweet, poignant moment.

The characters are vibrant and interesting. Margo is somewhat easy to relate to and I liked her laid back attitude. Her views on marriage create an interesting internal conflict for her. It was an intriguing to watch the strong, dominant girl who thinks she doesn’t need anyone fall flat on her face – literally and figuratively – over our hero. Chris could have been a bit less of a womanizer and I would have liked him so much more. It was not until the very end of the book that I found myself caring whether or not he ended up with Margo. I didn’t really like his character at all, even if he did seem to have all the traits that I tend to like in a male lead. He is outgoing and charming, strong but gentle. I would have loved him if there wasn’t some illusive thing that just didn’t work for me with him.

The writing is good and the author draws you into the story well but, with the exception of the last few pages, I found the book a bit boring. I think I read it so fast because I really wanted more action; some new plot items that would have made me go WOW. That didn’t come until page 225!

The love scene was brief with a little bit of heat at just the right moment. I would give it a 6 out of 10 on my Sexy Scale. (10 being very graphic in sexy content – 1 being so tame there isn’t even a real kiss… ok, well maybe a chaste one)

Overall, looking back at all I have written, the book was a good read even with some of the plot and character issues. I closed the book with a smile on my face which means the author did her job. For a contemporary romance fan, I would say give this book a try. I give this book a 7 out of 10 overall.

– My reviews can also be found on The Season for Romance. Check out the website, blog, and forum for great reviews, covers, announcements and more!


This book was received through NetGalley.com and Published by Carina Press.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

